

MEDIA RELEASE

Victoria Residential Builders Association · #1-3690 Carey Road · Victoria, BC · V8Z 4C2 · Phone: (250) 383-5044 · Fax: (250) 383-9423 · Email: admin@vrba.ca · Website: ww.vrba.ca

For Immediate Release

Date: November 13, 2019

Contact: Casey Edge, Executive Director

VRBA ANNOUNCES NEW BOARD OF DIRECTORS AND AWARD WINNERS

VICTORIA – The Victoria Residential Builders Association announced the 2019/20 Board of Directors at their AGM on November 13, 2020 at the Gorge Vale Golf Club. The event speaker was Jim Baker, Senior Analyst, BC Building and Safety Standards on upcoming changes to the National and BC Building Codes.

The new Board is represented by:

President: Kyle Ryan, Abstract Developments Inc Past President: Jenny Martin, Jenny Martin Design

First Vice-President: Dusty Delain, Amity Construction Inc Second Vice-President: Norm Verbrugge, Norman Homes Inc

Treasurer: Ellie Sercombe, Limona Group

Builders Council Chair: Dusty Delain, Amity Construction Inc

Suppliers and Trades Council Chair: Derek Ballman, FloForm Countertops

Directors:

- Tony Aindow, Goodison Construction Ltd
- Derek Ballman, FloForm Countertops
- Russ Barry, Interactive Construction Inc
- Mike Dalton, Città Group
- Lisa Dunsmuir, Step One Design
- Steven Hurst, W & J Construction Ltd
- Dan Olive, SeaFirst Insurance Brokers Ltd
- Paul Smith, K2 Stone (Victoria) Inc

The following President's Awards were presented by 2018/19 President Jenny Martin:

President's Award for outstanding service – Debra Dahlgren, Manager of Admin & CARE Awards, VRBA **Jerry Hepburn Award Memorial Award** for integrity & professionalism – Andrew Tidman, Tidman Group **Mike Kipot Award** for contribution to the industry – Rob Barry, Island Energy

Sponsors Appreciation Award for supporting VRBA programs – Coastal Community Credit Union; Trail Appliances

Marilyn Ann Lee Award for innovation – Steven Hurst, W & J Construction Ltd.

Service Award for delivering builder education – Murray Frank, Building It Right; Darrell Ell, Island ICF; Anton Van Dyk, Centra Construction Group; Braden Batch, Canada Mortgage and Housing;

Service Award for guidance as Past President and Board member - Todd Halaburda, New West Development Corp

Incoming President Kyle Ryan presented Jenny Martin with the Executive Achievement Award for leadership. "I want to thank Jenny Martin and the award winners for all of their hard work during the past year," says Ryan. "I am looking forward to working with a great team of VRBA members and continuing to build outstanding homes and communities."